Successful launch of aireg with 25 members

At its Constituent General Assembly on 19 September 2011 in Berlin , the Aviation Initiative for Renewable Energy in Germany – aireg – welcomed a total of 25 companies and organisations from the areas of science and research as founding members. At the General Assembly, the founding members adopted the statutes and the fee regulations for aireg and unanimously elected the Board.

The delegates elected Dr.-Ing. Klaus Nittinger, President for Industry and Aviation, and Prof. Dr.-Ing. Joachim Szodruch, President for Science and Research. Chairman of the Board is Siegfried Knecht, deputy chairman is Joachim Buse.

The founding members of aireg also decided to set up an Advisory Council and appointed as its first members the Parliamentary State Secretary to the Federal Minister of Transport, Building and Urban Development, Jan Mücke and Dr.-Ing. Detlef Müller-Wiesner, Chief Operating Officer Innovation of EADS. Other members of the Advisory Council are Dr. Jürgen Ringbeck, Senior Vice President, Booz & Company Inc., Stephan Kohler, CEO of Deutsche Energie-Agentur GmbH (dena) and Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Rolf Henke, a member of the Board of Management (Aviation) of the German Aerospace Centre (DLR).

Siegfried Knecht was visibly pleased following the General Assembly: “I am delighted that aireg has experienced right from the beginning such great encouragement and outstanding support from businesses, but also from the areas of science, research and politics. aireg will strive to advance the development and use of alternative, renewable liquid fuels such as biofuels for aviation, so that we can achieve our ambitious CO2 reduction targets.”

At a meeting on 8 June 2011, the founding members of aireg already reaffirmed in the presence of Federal Minister of Transport Dr. Peter Ramsauer their intention to launch the initiative, which was formally implemented at the Constituent General Assembly on the 19th of September 2011.

Founding Members of aireg:

  • Air Berlin PLC & Co. Luftverkehrs KG
  • Bauhaus Luftfahrt e.V.
  • Boeing International Corporation
  • Booz & Company Inc.
  • Condor Flugdienst GmbH
  • Deutsche Energie-Agentur GmbH (dena)
  • Deutsche Lufthansa AG
  • Deutsche Post AG
  • Deutsches BiomasseForschungsZentrum gGmbH
  • Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR)
  • EADS Deutschland GmbH
  • Flughafen München GmbH
  • Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH
  • Fraunhofer Institute for Building Physics
  • ISCC System GmbH
  • Jatro AG
  • JatroSolutions GmbH
  • Leuphana Lüneburg University
  • MTU Aero Engines Holding GmbH
  • Phytolutions GmbH
  • Rolls-Royce Deutschland Ltd & Co KG
  • Hamburg-Harburg University of Technology – Institute of Energy and Environmental Technology
  • TUIfly GmbH
  • Verbio Vereinigte BioEnergie AG