Executive Board, Advisory Council and Organisation Chart


The board of aireg consists of four elected members and two presidents as representative board members. The presidents are appointed by the General Assembly at the suggestion of the elected members.

aireg Vorstand, aireg board

Siegfried Knecht

Chairman of the Executive Board

Uwe Gaudig

Deputy Chairman of the Executive Board

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Martin Kaltschmitt

Deputy Chairman of the Executive Board

Melanie Form

Member of the Board
Managing Director


Prof. Dr.-Ing. Manfred Aigner

Member of the Board
President for Science and Research

Prof. Dr. Jürgen Ringbeck

Member of the Board
President for Industry and Aviation

Advisory Board

The members of the Advisory Board are appointed by the General Assembly. They advise aireg and its executive board on important strategic issues and thus support the association in achieving its goals.


Norbert Barthle

Parliamentary State Secretary (retd.), Senior Expert Energy and Hydrogen, United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO)

Timo Bovi

Managing Director, BRight Advisors GmbH

Dr. Joachim Buse

Managing Director, Adeptus Green Management GmbH

Nicole Dreyer-Langlet

Member of the Board of Management – VP Research & Technology Germany, Airbus Operations GmbH

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Anke Kaysser-Pyzalla

Chair of the DLR Executive Board, German Aerospace Center

Prof. Gernot Klepper, Ph.D.

Chairman of the International Sustainability and Carbon Certification Association (ISCC e.V.)

Thorsten Lange

Dr. Andreas Mündel

Senior Vice President Strategy & Operations Programs, DHL Group

Prof. Jürgen Raps

Independent Aviation Expert and Consultant Chiefpilot, Accountable Manager and Member of the Board Lufthansa Passenger Airline (retd.)

im Prüfstand - Ausschnitt

Dr. Claus Riegler

Senior Vice President Technology & Engineering Advanced Programs, MTU Aero Engines AG

General Assembly / Organization chart

The General Assembly is the highest aireg committee. Each member is entitled to vote. The Assembly elects the Board and decides on the composition of the Advisory Board, which advises and supports aireg in its strategic work.

The working group Resources and Technologies deals with the production options for sustainable aviation fuels and technical innovation. The Quality, Certification and Use working group focuses on the application of sustainable aviation fuels, and the Sustainability working group addresses the ecology, economy and social compatibility of the entire value chain. Furthermore, there is the Task Force Economy and Production, which deals with the marketing and production of sustainable aviation fuels.

Each working group appoints a chairman and a deputy. The spokespersons of the working groups and the members of the board meet in a coordination committee which is responsible for the cross-thematic control and coordination of the working groups.

Scroll to Top